The Nassau Stakes

The Nassau Stakes is one of the premier races of Glorious Goodwood, and dates back to 1840. The name originates from the close friendship the fifth Duke of Richmond enjoyed with the House of Orange-Nassau, the royal dynasty of the Netherlands.

It is a group 1 flat race open to thoroughbred fillies and mares that are three years or older, and is run over a distance of 1 mile 1 furlong and 192 yards, or 1986 metres. In recent years the race has been dominated by some of the country’s top jockeys:

Kieren Fallon – he is one of the only jockeys to have won the Nassau Stakes in three consecutive years. In 2002 he won on the three-year-old Islington, a year later he triumphed on Russian Rhythm, also a 3 year old trained by Sir Michael Stoute, and in 2004 he clinched the Nassau Stakes on another Stoute trained four-year-old, Favourable Terms.
Walter Swinburn – he will always be remembered for riding the luminary Shergar to victory at the 1981 Epsom Derby by an awesome 10 lengths, smashing all records! He has also won the Nassau Stakes a total of three times,
but not in consecutive years. He claimed the title in 1984 on Optimistic Lass, in 1990 on Kartajana and finally in 1994 on Hawajiss – all trained by Michael Stoute.
Lester Piggott – is arguably one of the best known and loved jockeys of his time. He is considered one of the finest flat racers and boasts a career win record of 4493. He has picked up wins at the Nassau Stakes no fewer than five times – in 1965 and 1966 on Aunt Edith and Haymaking respectively, on Cheveley Princess in 1973 and then again in 1975 and 1976 when he and his charge, the awesome Roussalka triumphed together in both years.
Glorious Goodwood Nassau Stakes Winners from 1946

Date Name Jockey Trainer
2009 Midday T Queally Henry Cecil
2008 Halfway to Heaven J Murtagh Aidan O’Brien
2007 Peeping Fawn J Murtagh Aidan O’Brien
2006 Ouija Board F Dettori E Dunlop
2005 Alexander Goldrun K Manning J Bolger
2004 Favourable Terms K Fallon Sir M Stoute
2003 Russian Rhythm K Fallon Sir M Stoute
2002 Islington K Fallon Sir M Stoute
2001 Lailani L Dettori E Dunlop
2000 Crimpelene P Robinson C Brittain
1999 Zahrat Dubai G Stevens S Bin Suroor
1998 Alborada G Duffield Sir M Prescott
1997 Ryafan M Hills J Gosden
1996 Last Second G Duffield Sir M Prescott
1995 Caramba M Roberts R Hannon
1994 Hawajiss W R Swinburn M Stoute
1993 Lyphard’s Delta W Ryan H Cecil
1992 Ruby Tiger T Quinn P Cole
1991 Ruby Tiger T Quinn P Cole
1990 Kartajana W R Swinburn M Stoute
1989 Mamaluna G Starkey G Harwood
1988 Ela Romara Pat Eddery G Wragg
1987 Nom de Plume S Cauthien H Cecil
1986 Park Express J Reid J Bolger
1985 Free Guest Pat Eddery L Cumani
1984 Optimistic Lass W R Swinburn M Stoute
1983 Acclimatise G Baxter B Hobbs
1982 Dancing rocks Pat Eddery H Wragg
1981 Go Leasing G Starkey G Harwood
1980 Vielle G Baxter B Hobbs
1979 Connaught Bridge J Mercer H Cecil
1978 Cistus W Carson W Hern
1977 Triple First G Starkey M Stoute
1976 Roussalka L Piggott H Cecil
1975 Roussalka L Piggott H Cecil
1974 Mil’s Bomb G Lewis N Murless
1973 Cheveley Princess L Piggott H Wragg
1972 Crespinall R Hutchinson R Hannon
1971 Catherine Wheel G Lewis B Hobbs
1970 Pulchra G Lewis J Sirett
1969 Lucyrowe F Durr P Walwyn
1968 Hill Shade A Barclay N Murless
1967 Fair winter J Mercer D Candy
1966 Haymaking L Piggott R F J Houghton
1965 Aunt Edith L Piggott N Murless
1964 Cracker J Mercer W Wharton
1963 Spree J Lindley J Tree
1962 Nortia J Mercer W Hern
1961 Rachel J Lindley J Gosden
1960 Desert Beauty A Breasley G Richards
1959 Crystal Palace E Smith T Leader
1958 Darlene A Breasley G Richards
1957 Swallowswift E Mercer G Colling
1956 Dilettante D Smith J F Watts
1955 Reel In A Breasley N Cannon
1954 Key W Snaith N Murless
1953 Happy Laughter W Rickaby J Jarvis
1952 Hortentia D Smith G Colling
1951 Sea Parrot G Richards N Murless
1950 Flying slipper W Carr C Boyd-Rochfort
1949 Jet Plane G Richards J Lawson
1948 Goblet G Richards N Murless
1947 Wild child T Lowrey R Perryman
1946 Wayward Belle E Smith J Jarvis